Our Board

Our voluntary Board provides strategic direction for PCHA and monitors our performance to ensure that we are achieving our objectives within our agreed values. Our Board Members bring a wealth of skills and experience to ensure that they can effectively manage PCHA's business.  

Cathy McCarthy – Chair

Cathy’s first roles were in housing advice and homelessness for a London local authority where she found a passion for working in social housing, making a positive difference to lives and communities.  She has over 20 years’ experience at a senior level, including Director roles at Origin Housing and Southern Housing.

Cathy lives locally in Beckenham and is currently Housing Director at West Kent Housing.

Trevor Crook – Vice Chair

Trevor had a long career in local authority housing, culminating in becoming the Director of Housing at the LB of Lewisham.  He then went on to become a civil servant working with the Home Office and Foreign Office in a number of foreign countries, working with their governments on strategic planning, capacity building and risk management. Trevor is now retired.


Adeola Oke

Adeola has experience in a number of senior roles in housing associations, particularly in housing policy, asset management and business strategy. He was formerly Head of Asset Management for Hornsey Housing Trust, and Director of Local Space. He is currently employed as a consultant with Arhag Housing Association.  Adeola is a member of the CIH.

Karen Cooper

Appointed as Chief Exec of PCHA in December 2016, Karen has worked at a senior level within the social housing and voluntary sector for over 25 years.  Her interest in social housing came from being homeless herself when she was pregnant with her daughter; she realised that having a safe affordable home is an essential building block for life. She started off working in supported housing for people with mental health problems, and then went on to be the Chief Exec of three small community based housing associations. In 2006 she set up her own consultancy business and since then has worked with a range of housing and support providers, offering advice and training to enable them to improve services, successfully engage tenants, and achieve their visions.

Jonathan Bowen - board member.jpg

Jonathan Bowen

Jonathan Bowen is a solicitor practising in-house for Optivo, a private registered provider, and he has worked in the housing sector for over four years. Before training to become a solicitor, he studied law at Swansea University and completed the Legal Practice Course at Cardiff University. Jonathan moved to London in 2014, commenced his training contract with Viridian (now Optivo), and qualified as a solicitor with them in 2016.


Jonathan’s aim is to make a real difference to residents’ lives and his dedication to the housing sector and to improving individuals’ lives was recognised by the Chartered Institute of Housing in 2017, when he received the London Award for New Professional of the Year.


Rowann Limond

Rowann has a degree in Management Science and is a qualified CIPFA accountant.  Rowann examined for CIPFA and is a member of the Housing panel and as such she participates in the formulation of accounting guidance and advice to other practitioners.

Since Rowann qualified she has been in a number of senior management roles, managing both external customer-facing services such as leasehold and income teams, as well as internal customer facing ones such as Finance, IT and Human Resources.   


Simon Oelman

Simon has worked for a a number of Housing Associations and local authorities during his career in housing at a senior level. This has included running repairs and housing management services. However, his main interest is in resident engagement and involvement and in community development. He is currently the Director of a Resident Management Organisation in Brixton.


Richard Ellis

Richard is the Assistant Director of Asset Management at Peabody looking after the investment programmes, stock information and long-term planning. Recently he has written the sustainability strategy for Peabody to make a positive impact on climate change. He is passionate about social housing, customer service and making sure that the homes that we live in are safe, secure and fit for the future.


Sarah Chatfield

Sarah has had a long career in housing spanning nearly 30 years.  She has had roles in a number of G15 Housing Associations including Hyde Housing and Metropolitan Thames Valley Housing.  Whilst mainly specialising in leasehold management and service charges, she is currently managing a mixed tenure portfolio as Director of Home Ownership for Anchor Hanover – the largest national provider of accommodation for those in later life.


Alan Begg

Alan is a retired corporate executive director experienced in the private, not-for-profit, public, charity and commercial sectors and acted as the Executive Director of Finance and Corporate Services in the Valuation Tribunal Service in London prior to retirement. As a graduate chartered accountant, Alan’s career has extended to being a Chief and Deputy Chief Executive, Accounting Officer, practice partner and Finance Director in various customer servicing organisations. Alan has an in-depth knowledge of finance, corporate governance, risk management, business planning and strategic development; he has also a mentoring qualification from his Institute. Currently Alan has a non-executive Director portfolio comprising: Trustee/Director of Compass, a social welfare York based charity; panel member in his local NHS CCG; as a group audit committee member of Greensquare Group Housing Assoc.; as an independent member of Islington Town Council’s audit committee; as pensions board member at Islington Town Council; and as an elite panel member of LV=. Alan was the former Chair of the audit and risk committee in York and served as Chair of the Board at Queen Mary University of London until 2018.

Board Member Declarations of Interest

PCHA Board and Commitee members are required to make an annual Declaration of Interest. The 2021 Declarations of Interest for all current Board and Commitee members are linked below.